ALA election opens March 11

Voting for the 2024 ALA Election is open through April 3, 2024. United for Libraries has four candidates on the ballot this year.

The American Library Association (ALA) election polls opened on Monday, March 11, 2024.  ALA members are encouraged to cast a digital ballot to vote for association-wide leadership that will shape the future and direction of the association. ALA’s annual election will close on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time.  

“As we approach ALA’s 150th Anniversary, we should celebrate all we’ve accomplished but also look ahead to all that remains to be done to ensure the future of libraries. Your vote in matters – please take the time to select our next president and councilors-at-large,” said ALA Interim Executive Director Leslie Burger.

ALA’s 2025-26 presidential election includes Sam Helmick, Community & Access Services Coordinator at Iowa City Public Library, and Raymond Pun, Academic and Research Librarian at the Alder Graduate School of Education in California.  Both candidates participated in the ALA Presidential and Candidates’ Forum that took place virtually.  Voters also will select 12 ALA Councilors-at-Large from a pool of 26 candidates.  Biographical information about the Councilor-at-Large candidates is available on the ALA election website

United for Libraries Candidates

President Elect – Lauren Trujillo, MLIS, CFRE
Foundation Director, Santa Barbara (Calif.) Public Library

Lauren Trujillo, MLIS, CFRE, is the Foundation Director of the Santa Barbara Public Library Foundation. She first came to Santa Barbara to attend UCSB where she received a B.A. in History. She received her Masters in Library and Information Science from UCLA and has worked with several nonprofits and organizations in Santa Barbara, CA including the Isla Vista Memorial Project, the Santa Barbara Mission Archive Library, the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation, and the Santa Barbara Historical Museum. She sits on the board for the Women’s Fund of Santa Barbara, United for Libraries, Women’s Literary Voices, the Northside Optimist Club, Association for Fundraising Professionals, Environmental Defense Center, and is a member of the Junior League of Santa Barbara.

Division Councilor – Andrea Lapsley
President, Texas Library and Archives Foundation

Andrea Lapsley currently serves as the President of the Texas Library and Archives Foundation supporting the Texas State Library and Archives. She has been on the board since 2016 and president since 2018. She also currently is a board of United for Libraries, a division of ALA where she serves on their executive board and is their division councilor to ALA Council.

Prior to these boards, she worked for Colorado State University Library for seven years as their Director of Development and Marketing, raising millions of dollars in annual gifts and planned gifts. After retirement, she was hired on contract for an additional seven years to continue managing their author series. She began her library career at the Houston Public Library System where she worked for 20 years as the Assistant Director of Marketing and Development overseeing all library programming, development and public relations/ communications. She worked extensively with their Friends of the library group and the library board. Prior to her library work, she worked for the United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast raising funds, the Houston Chamber of Commerce, overseeing membership, Fannin Bank and M. David Lowe Personnel.

She has been a member of ALA since 1989 and has held several positions including president of LLAMA, now CORE. She has served on multiple unit and ALA committees and task forces, and served on many award juries.

Trustee at Large – Chris Chanyasulkit, PhD, MPH
Trustee, Public Libraries of Brookline (Mass.)

Chris Chanyasulkit, PhD, MPH is a public health practitioner, advocate, keynote speaker, and master connector. As immediate Past President of the American Public Health Association (APHA), Dr. Chanyasulkit is grounded in a strong belief in eliminating the structural barriers to equity for historically marginalized populations. Chris holds leadership positions with local, state, and national governance, and civic engagement organizations whose work promotes racial, gender, and health equity.

Dr. Chanyasulkit is the author of Successful Public Health Advocacy: Lessons Learned from Massachusetts Legislators. Her signature ability to engage with a diverse range of audiences has made her a highly regarded speaker for students, educators, public health professionals, civic organizations, and general audiences across the country. In addition to her advocacy and scholarly pursuits, Dr. Chanyasulkit is an elected Library Trustee of the Public Libraries of Brookline, a Brookline Community Emergency Response Team member, and a Brookline Medical Reserve Corps member. She is also a board member of United for Libraries, a division of the American Library Association.

Dr. Chanyasulkit has a bachelor’s degree in Biology and Art History from Boston University and a master’s degree in public health from the Boston University School of Public Health. She also holds a doctoral degree in Political Science from Northeastern University, where she conducted research on health disparities. She is happiest when reading a good mystery at home with her three kids, her husband, and their two puppies in Brookline, Massachusetts.

Foundation at Large – Selena Giovannelli
Vice Chair, Charlotte Mecklenburg (N.C.) Library Foundation

Selena Martin Giovannelli has been Vice Chair of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Foundation since 2021. She began serving on the Foundation board in 2019. She also serves on the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Foundation and Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Board of Trustees Joint Advocacy Committee. Selena has served on the Queen’s University Friends of the Library since 2018, and has been Vice President since 2022. She has also been active on the boards of the Charlotte Ballet, Mint Museum of Art Auxiliary, KinderMourn, and the Junior League of Charlotte. She has been a commercial real estate attorney with Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP, and Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP. She earned a juris doctorate from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law.

How Members Vote

ALA members are notified by e-mail providing instructions on how to vote. Members are also able to visit the ALA election website to access their ballot by clicking the “Vote Now” button. Polls opened on Monday, March 11, 2024.  The ALA annual election will close on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time. Elections will be posted on the ALA Election Website Monday, April 8, 2024. For more information, please visit the ALA Election Website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *