A warm welcome to new board members Sharon Amastae and Selena Giovannelli!

Two new board members have been appointed to the United for Libraries Board of Directors: Sharon Amastae (Friend at Large) and Selena Giovannelli (Foundation at Large). Their terms begin immediately. We are excited to welcome these two leaders to United for Libraries!

Sharon Amastae is Past-Chair of the Library Friends, Trustees, and Advocates Round Table of the Texas Library Association. She has been a Trustee with the New Mexico Library Foundation since 2020. In 2021, she received the Texas Library Association Lifetime Achievement Award. Sharon served as President of the Texas Library Association in 2014-2015. She has also served as an Executive Board Member and ALA Councilor with the Texas Library Association. She was a librarian with Ysleta ISD, El Paso, Texas, from 1985-2012, and was selected as Teacher of the Year four times during her tenure there.

Selena Martin Giovannelli has been Vice Chair of the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Foundation since 2021. She began serving on the Foundation board in 2019. She also serves on the Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Foundation and Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Board of Trustees Joint Advocacy Committee. Selena has served on the Queen’s University Friends of the Library since 2018, and has been Vice President since 2022. She has also been active on the boards of the Charlotte Ballet, Mint Museum of Art Auxiliary, inderMourn, and the Junior League of Charlotte. She has been a commercial real estate attorney with Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP, and Katten Muchin Rosenman, LLP. She earned a juris doctorate from the University of
North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *