United for Libraries Board of Directors Candidates

The ALA election is now open! United for Libraries personal members will be able to cast their votes for United board candidates, as well as vote on five bylaws changes. Members will receive an email to cast their vote. The election closes April 6, 11:59 Pacific Time. Election results will be announced April 13.

The candidates up for election to the United for Libraries Board are Deborah Doyle (Vice President/President), Kathleen McEvoy (Secretary), Lauren Trujillo and Kathy J. Selking (two Foundation-at-Large positions), and Steven Yates (Friend-at-Large). More information about the candidates:

Deborah Doyle currently serves as Board Member at Large on the United for Libraries Board of Directors. She is a writer, editor, and fundraiser as well as an active library advocate at local, state, and national levels. She played board and staff roles at Friends of the San Francisco Public Library and was actively involved in helping to create San Francisco’s well-funded modern library system. She has served as President of the California Library Association (CLA) and is the only person to receive CLA’s President’s Award twice – the highest honor given to an individual for significant contributions to libraries. She currently sits on the United for Libraries board, the ALA Committee on Legislation, and the CLA Advocacy and Legislative Committee, and chairs the Sonoma County Library Commission, and she is treasurer (and a past president) of California Public Library Advocates. She also chairs United for Libraries’ Public Policy & Advocacy Committee. Deborah holds a BA from University of Virginia (high honors) and an Executive MLIS from San Jose State University.

Since joining EBSCO in 2006, Kathleen McEvoy has been involved in communicating EBSCO’s role in the library industry and the industry itself. Her focus has been on library advocacy for both the industry and the profession. She has addressed COSLA and works with statewide consortia on library advocacy and emerging issues relating to access to information. Kathleen is also the co-editor of a column in Against the Grain on the future of libraries. Kathleen oversees EBSCO’s conference and events team. The team manages scholarship programs that fund librarians to attend conferences, including ALA Annual, the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color, and sponsorships including ARL’s Kaleidoscope Diversity Scholars Program and its Leadership Fellows Program. The team also manages awards, working with CORE and the H.W Wilson Foundation on The John Cotton Dana Awards, the largest annual award given to libraries. Kathleen spearheads the EBSCO Solar Grant Program, which has donated nearly $1,500,000 to fund solar projects. As current Secretary on United for Libraries’ Board of Directors, Kathleen co-chairs the United for Libraries Intellectual Freedom Task Force, and is active on the United for Libraries Programming Committee and the Executive Board.

Lauren Trujillo attended UCSB where she received a B.A. in History. She recently received her Masters in Library and Information Science from UCLA. She has worked with several nonprofits and organizations in Santa Barbara, including the Isla Vista Memorial Project, the Santa Barbara Mission Archive-Library, the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation, and the Santa Barbara Historical Museum. She sits on the board for the Santa Barbara Women’s Literary Festival and volunteers with the nonprofit Self Enquiry Life Fellowship in Montecito. As gift operations manager at SFMOMA, she managed over 60,000 members and assisted with the re-opening campaign after a three-year closure. Her background in nonprofit fundraising is diverse and aligns with the needs of the Santa Barbara Public Library Foundation. She is a current Foundation at Large Board Member of United for Libraries, co-chairs United’s Member Resource Audit Task Force, and serves on United’s Public Policy & Advocacy Committee.

Kathy Selking is Director of Development, Affinity and Events, for the Toledo Lucas County (Ohio) Public Library. She previously served as Development Manager for the Toledo Zoo and Area Director for the Muscular Dystrophy Association, and is a Certified Fundraising Executive. She serves on United’s Programming Committee, where she coordinates United’s monthly Learning Live programs.

Steven Yates began his professional career working in school and public libraries before becoming an instructor at the University of Alabama, where he is now an assistant director and a faculty member in the University’s College of Communication & Information Sciences and College of Education. Yates has dedicated himself to fostering school libraries and librarians, developing an Education Specialist certification/degree program at SLIS in partnership with the College of Education, and serving as the school library media program coordinator. Dr. Yates is well recognized in the greater library community, being a member of every ALA division as well as a Life Member of ALA. He has served in several leadership positions in ALA, including president of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), Policy Corps, Forward Together Working Group co-chair, Steering Committee on Organizational Effectiveness, Committee on Appointments, Committee on Diversity, and Emerging Leaders Program Subcommittee. His ALA experience is varied – he is a 2010 Emerging Leader, has served on the Committee on Diversity, is a life member of the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), and is a member of the Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) and the National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking (REFORMA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *